A productive Sunday

At the start of the year I decided that 2010 was going to be the year that I tried to conquer my fear of finishing and also my fear of my sewing machine.   I bought the sewing machine about four years ago, just a very basic one, and up until now it has only had two or three outings.  Even though I love stitching larger designs, there are so many stitches who stitch only small designs and I love looking around people’s blogs and seeing what seems like hundreds of different finishing techniques, and I often think that “maybe next year” will be my year for stitching smalls.  Unfortunately I’ve had this thought quite a few times and so far it hasn’t happened, but maybe next year LOL!

Today I decided to dust off the sewing machine and have a go at finishing off a couple of the designs I had finished years ago and which have been in my finishes drawer crying out for some attention.  First of all I tried my hand at a flat fold.  I had a Christmas design from one of the Just Cross Stitch ornament editions already stitched up so decided to use that.  It’s not perfect by any means, but for a first attempt I am feeling very pleased with myself.  Next was a simple pin cushion, using a design by Margaret Sherry.  Finally is a floss tag, using a one of my favourite Lizzie Kate designs.  The floss tag was made using Vonna’s tutorial, which worked like a charm!

Here’s some close up photos, including shots of the backing fabrics used on the pin cushion and floss tag

I also tried my hand at framing this weekend.  I saw a lovely frame when I was out shopping on Saturday that I thought would be perfect for LHN’s School of Needlework.  It is just a teeny bit wonky, but I know that I will get better with a bit of practice and I have quite a few designs waiting to be framed so by the time I’ve finished I should be an expert LOL.  I think the distressed look of the frame looks great with this design and plan on buying a few more of these frames for my other LHN finishes.

I don’t have many stitching updates for you this week, no progress at all on L’Automne – work has been absolutely hectic and I’ve barely had time to eat my sandwiches this week, so L’Automne hasn’t even been taken out of it’s bag this week.

At home I’ve been stitching on Ribbon Sampler by Sampler Cove.  This is stitched on 40 count linen so it’s a bit slow going but I’m really enjoying it.

This is quite possibly the worst photograph I have EVER taken!  I have no idea what went wrong there.  This close up picture is more accurate colour wise.

I’ve been waiting for my chart to arrive for the Pin Pillow exchange but am very disappointed in the online store I ordered from.  The payment is still showing as pending in my Paypal account and even though the item was showing as in stock when I ordered there’s no sign of movement, and also no reply to my chaser emails.  The chart is now showing as “shipping in 5-7 days” so I’m guessing that there is a supply problem, but it would have been nice to have been told so I could order it from somewhere else as I really want to get that finished before starting the Bramble and the Rose SAL on 1st March.

If you’re still reading – THANK YOU!  I’m sorry for posting such a long post, I really will try and get my act together next week and post through the week instead of leaving it all until the weekend.

I hope you’ve all had a wonderful weekend!  Thank you for visiting, I really do appreciate all your comments!

20 thoughts on “A productive Sunday

  1. Great finishes, well done you! I’ll let you in on a secret, I’m terrified of my sewing machine as well lol. All my small finishes are done by hand, but I will conquer it one of these days.
    What floss are you using for your Ribbon Sampler and how many skeins have you bought if you don’t mind me asking? I’ve just kitted mine up but had trouble working out how much floss I need as I’m not using Gloriana lol.

  2. Great start at finishing! It does take time and practice with some techniques! The Sewing machine isn’t that scary either.

    I love your piece on 40ct linen!

  3. I, too, am learning how to finish my finishes this year. I also saw Vonna’s tag tutorial and will be giving it a try next month (as I need to purchase some of the items/tools yet). I thought those tags were the cutest things and would make great gifts!

    I think most people are a bit intimidated of their sewing machines. I finally broke down and purchased one before Christmas last year so I could make some pillows. But, for smaller finishes, I agree with Lisa that hand sewing might be best.

  4. You’ve done a wonderful job with your finishing. I prefer to my machine for bigger pieces and hand stitch the smaller ones. I like having more control over the small ones.
    Those two pictures of the Ribbon Sampler look like two completely different pieces!

  5. what a lovely feeling to know that you have begun mastering your sewing machine ^^ those are lovely finishes and your framing isn’t half bad either.
    and Ribbon sampler is looking good – thought you had started a second version when I saw first photo ^^

  6. Isn’t it great to try some thing you haven’t done before and it turns out more than just ok. That flat fold is perfect, well done you and I love the frame you’ve chosen, it is just right for the LHN design, I shall look out for one like that myself as it does suit LHN perfectly.

    Happy stitching and sewing!

    Chris x

  7. Ssssh… I’ll tell you a secret, for all my quilting, I hate the machine, doing nearly everything by hand! Great finishes, you’re braver than I am.

    Love the Ribbon Sampler… of course, I do, it’s RED! Haven’t used 40ct yet, suspect it would be hard on the eyes.

  8. I love your finished items – well done for tackling them – I am sewing machine phobic too! Maybe I will conquer my fear next year..lol. I love the frame you chose for your LHN – it looks great and Ribbon Sampler is lovely.

  9. I love all of your finishes, Sandra! That little hedgehog is especially darling! Your frame looks perfect for the LHN piece, too. You sure had a productive week 🙂

  10. Your finishes are great! I too, am trying to get to grips with my sewing machine – I’ve had it for over 20 years now and it has only been used half a dozen times!
    The frame is just perfect for that design too!

  11. I call my anxiety over getting my stitching finished FOF – Fear of Finishing. Good for you for tackling yours – it paid off handsomely. Your blog is new to me and I am so enjoying looking at your work.

  12. Whenever I see the word ‘productive’ in a blog title I know that there will be a lot of eye candy to see. Oh Sandra, your finishes are all wonderful, beautiful, gorgeous. Finishing my stitched pieces is also my pet peeve and that’s why my drawer with unfinished small and bigger pieces is full to the brim. I should really start on them – like you. Congratulations.

Leave a Reply

