Ready, steady ….

In readiness for March 1st and the start of the Bramble and The Rose SAL I cut my fabric today, overlocked the edges, put the fabric, chart and threads together and even treated myself to a new needle!  Can you tell I’m looking forward to start this one?

Because I don’t have quite enough projects on the go at the moment 😉 Sheila thought it would be a good idea to add one more to the mix.  After seeing B&R stitched on black using a gold thread we both decided that we would like to try something similar, but maybe on a smaller scale.  We had a look around at some freebie charts and in the end decided to use a Pelin Tezer design called Lale.  You can see the design by clicking With My Compliments on the Pelin Tezer website.  Here’s a screen shot of the design.

We are both using 32ct Belfast linen, Sheila is using Weeks Dye Works – Whiskey, I am using Needle Necessities – 161 (Fools Gold). We are hoping to start this in the next week or so, just waiting for Sheila to have yet another happy dance!

It’s been a bit of a strange week for me stitching wise.  I was happily stitching away on Ribbon Sampler when I received a comment from Lisa, who asked which thread I was using and how much of it I had.  A couple of emails follows and it turned out that I had followed the thread estimate on the Hand Dyed Fibers site when ordering my threads from there, but unfortunately there had been a miscalculation on their part so the thread I have is nowhere near enough to finish the design.  The problem arose because the recommended thread for the design is Gloriana, which is 12 strands instead of the usual 6.  I have ordered more threads from HDF so I’m just waiting for them to arrive so I can compare the colours of the new threads with the ones I already have.  Please keep your fingers crossed that they will be close enough not to make a difference!  A big thank you to Lisa for telling me about the problem.  Lesson learnt:  Check, check and check again!

I’ve been extremely tired this week as we’ve been very busy at work and by the time I get home, have something to eat, clear up etc I feel almost ready to go to bed, so I didn’t want anything too complicated to work on.  I picked one of my older WIP’s Cirque des Carreaux as there are no thread changes and it’s quite an easy chart to follow.  

Thanks for visiting!  I hope you’re all having a wonderful weekend!

17 thoughts on “Ready, steady ….

  1. Your’e very organised getting things ready for your new start, i usually just jump in ,lol. I’ll be interested to see your gold on black project, should be very striking:-)

    I love CdC! i still want to stitch this, the shop where i enquired about the chart never got back to me so i’ll have to look elsewhere. Love the colour, is i threadworx?

    Have a great week, don’t work too hard!

  2. I love the colours you’ve chosen for your new starts! Thanks for linking to the Pelin Tezer site as I have never been there before. I found a few cute small designs to put in my “stitch someday” file. I hope that the new floss you’ve ordered will match what you already have! Lovely progress on CdC.

  3. A stitcher never has too many projects and that’s why we always have some room for one more. Or two, lol. The gold on the black fabric will look gorgeous.
    Cirque looks great.

  4. CdesC looks fabulous Sandra – I ad forgotten you were stitching this! My threads for B&R have not arrived yet but I am looking forward to starting – like I need another start. I like the chart you have chosen for your gold on black SAL – look forward to seeing it grow.

  5. well done on getting back to work with CdeC and I’m keeping fingers crossed that your Ribbon Sampler threads will be the same shade!
    Look forward to seeing your trial run on black . . . and I too, am having a count-down to our B&R SAL although I haven’t gotten round to preparing my fabric yet.

  6. Well, I’ve bitten the bullet and going to start Bramble and the Rose with you all on 1 March. Did try to join Ink Circles Stitchers, but haven’t heard anymore!

    Have ordered my floss, Threadworx Lava Rocks, hopefully it’ll be here by weeks end, haven’t decided if I want to do this on a light grey linen or stick to an antique white – I think the White might be more dramatic, but will mean I’ll have to buy fabric… will wait and see once thread arrives… so hard ordering on line to work out exactly what the colour is, but don’t have a local store that stocks it.

    Love the CdC – I’ve got this chart, was thinking of stitching this using Vikki Clayton’s Baneberry Bright – a mix of red and green…

    Having got my applique fix out of the way over the weekend back to stitching Blackbird Design stockings.

    BTW, Sandra re: your comment on my blog, needleturn applique is when you use the edge of the needle to turn under a small seam allowance as you stitch. I sort of do needleturn, except I cheat a little and backbaste the work which means I’ve got a guiding edge to turn under.

  7. Oh, that Pelin Tezar design will be outstanding with the yellow on black, Sandra! Can’t wait to follow your progress 🙂

    Beautiful stitching on your CdC, too!

  8. Looking forward to seeing your bramble and rose get started. I’m joining in with this as well though cheating a bit as i actually started last year but it kind of got put aside. and have now just realised that March is next week – aah! where has the time gone?

  9. Lale is going to be a lovely one, cant wait to see this develop.

    Bramble and Rose day tomorrow – March 1st, where did Feb go to??

    CdeC is stitched using a pretty thread colour

Leave a Reply

