Weekend update

I am, very slowly, getting back into the habit of blogging again, although one post a week seems to be all I can manage at the moment.  Things have been very busy in work (again) and my stitching progress this week has been slow to say the least.  I did manage to frog the counting error I told you about last week and have restarted that section of the chart, this time in the right place 😉
20thseptember2010-2010-09-19-19-03.jpg

I’ve been enjoying catching up on some blogs over the last week or so, and have noticed that there seems to be a lot of crochet being done at the moment. This is something that I’ve fancied trying for a while. A couple of the girls I work with are interested in learning too and are in the process of gathering their supplies at the moment so it seemed like a good time to get some practice in. Thanks to a couple of helpful You Tube tutorials and a book I ordered from Amazon called 200 Crochet Blocks which had great instructions for beginners I’ve made a start on a blanket.

I saw this blanket on a couple of blogs, in particular Attic 24 and Hazel’s blog and loved it straight away. I decided just to stick to a limited number of colours for my first attempt and so far I am thrilled with the way it’s turning out. My tension is a bit hit and miss at the moment, but I’m sure that by the end of the blanket it will be a lot better, given that it’s absolutely enormous and is going to take me a few months to finish if I’m lucky I’ll have plenty of practice LOL.

19thseptember2010-2010-09-19-19-03.jpg

I’m using the Stylecraft Special DK wool mentioned in the two blogs above, it’s very reasonably priced, I managed to find it for £1.19 a ball, and the colours available are just beautiful. I’m using Lipstick, Walnut and Cream to match the colour scheme in my bedroom (the red colour in the photo is not really accurate, I would describe it more as a very dark raspberry colour)

I find this far easier on the brain and eyes than cross stitching after a hard day at work, but will still stitch as often as I can as well of course.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Sandra. Bookmark the permalink.

14 thoughts on “Weekend update

  1. I’ve noticed a lot of people crocheting, too, and it makes me want to pull out my crocheting again. I made my DH (then boyfriend) a ripple afghan for our first Christmas and started on a block afghan but didn’t progress to far. I’ve tried my hand at knitting but I think I might like crochet more. Perhaps I’ll have to give it a try again!

    Your Eiffel Quaker is coming along beautifully!

  2. Your crochet looks great – it is very soothing isn’t it! I am thinking of doing that blanket once I have finished mine. I have that book too and have found it very useful!

  3. Your Quaker is looking lovely.

    I keep saying I’m going to have a go at crocheting. I never managed to master it so not sure I’ll be able to. Only thing is I don’t want anything to eat into my stitching time!! Lol!

  4. Hello! Glad you stopped by my blog. I’m so glad you did and now I’m finally getting round to visiting lol. Isn’t the Granny Stripe just fab! My stitching has taken a bit of a back burner of late with all the crochet but today I did get a stitchy wip out. It’s that time of year though – cold – just right for snuggly blankets. x

  5. You naughty girl! Becoming a hooker! (looking great BTW)

    Love your Paris Quaker piece!

    I think life is busy for a lot of us lately all I seem to manage is roughly a post per week.

Leave a Reply

