January Challenge

Yesterday I joined a new forum, Needlecraft Haven. It’s a very new forum, but there are lots of people joining already.

I used to be an active member of a couple of forums, and even attended at a Stitchers Weekend in Woburn a few years ago, which I thoroughly enjoyed, where I met a number of people I had only ever “talked to” online, some of which are members of the new forum, so am looking forward to meeting lots of new stitchers there.

While browsing the forum today I saw there is a Monthly Challenge each month, using a free design, which you can finish any way you want.   All participants then submit their photos of their finishes and they are all revealed on the same day at the end of each month.  This is a great way of discovering new designers, stitching things outside of your comfort zone and getting some finishing inspiration so I will have a go at joining in each month, but this will be the only deviation from Celtic Garden Mandala.

January’s design is called Petit Chat and can be found here.  Can you see why this design appealed to me lol??

I’m going to pick out some fabric/threads this afternoon and may make a start on it later on, and it will then become my lunchtime project at work.  My only real New Years Resolution is to actually take a lunch hour lol.  I have a few ideas for finishing, one of which is something I’ve always wanted to try out, so we’ll wait and see how that turns out.

 

3 thoughts on “January Challenge

  1. it’s a great idea to take part in a monthly challenge – even if you only do one every two months ^^
    I’ve already stitched the little Tralala cat and bet you’ll be off wanting to buy some of Tralala’s other designs after lol.

  2. It’s lovely to see lots of friends at NH.

    The challenge is a great project to learn new finishing skills, i think a lot of ladies use it for that, looking forward to seeing your finish in the album at the end of the month

Leave a Reply

