Plans for 2012

I can’t believe that the last time I updated this blog was way back in July! Since then I have barely picked up a needle or used my sewing machine. 2011 has been a very tough year for us for many reasons, and spare time for hobbies seemed difficult to find.

I did join a Christmas Ornament exchange onThe Gift of Stitching Magazine forum, which I thoroughly enjoyed. My exchange partner was Kate and I received a very pretty ornament from her. Unfortunately I accidentally deleted the photo I took of the ornament I stitched for Kate, but you can see it on her blog. I stitched First Snow by Drawn Thread, a lovely freebie design that I have stitched a couple of times over the years.

img_2123-2011-12-28-14-50.jpg

For Christmas I received a lovely package from Claire, containing a French magazine which combines my two loves, stitching and quilting, a handmade bookmark and a couple of gorgeous hand dyed threads – thank you Claire!

fromclaire-2011-12-28-14-50.jpg

As usually happens, the extended Christmas break from work renews my enthusiasm for stitching, it’s a time of the year both Phill and I use to completely re-charge our batteries. In particular this year we have both been working extremely hard and have had a lot of things going on outside of work to keep us on our toes. This year we really do need to unwind. He has spent the last few days playing his guitar and playing Call of Duty, while I have been sorting through my WIPs/UFOs – we have both been watching far to much television and eating far too much chocolate!

I have read on a few blogs about WIPocalypse, you can find more details on Measi’s blog, so I have decided to join and use 2012 to try and finish some of my WIP’s. Today I went through my stitching room and made a list of ALL my WIPs, some of which date back at least ten years! I was very surprised to discover that I have 28 WIPs – I thought it would be more ’-) I’ve taken a photograph of each of them so I can track what progress, if any, I manage to make on them. I have listed them all on the WIPocalypse page

Of the 28 I have chosen five to work on at the moment. I have no particular method for choosing which one to work on at any particular time, I’ll just go with whichever one takes my fancy.

  • Isabelle Vautier – L’automne. Small design from a book called Les Coeurs d’ Isa, received as a gift from Claire. This should be quick to finish.
  • The Drawn Thread – Moonlight Garden. This design involves a variety of speciality stitches, something to work on when I am in the mood for some variety.
  • Door Belles Needle Treasures – Do Not Disturb. This is very colourful and fun, and reminds me of my cat Ginger.
  • Jardin Prive – Sampler Aux Bouquet. Started as a SAL last year, but I didn’t get very far. A very delicate design, on 40 count fabric using one thread.
  • Chatelaine Designs – Celtic Garden. A massive design, quite complex, lots of speciality stitches, colour changes, silk threads and thousands of beads. Definitely something to stitch on a day where I have a lot of time.

It’s taken me over an hour to compose this post, as I had forgotten how to add links/photos etc so I’ll finish here, and go and browse a few blogs before settling down in front of the TV with one of my chosen projects.

I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas and are looking forward to 2012 as much as I am!

7 thoughts on “Plans for 2012

  1. twenty-eight WIPs ?????????? are you mad lol ? how on earth did you ever manage to accumulate so many? Well that’s it, I know what my job is going to be over 2012 . . . I’m going to be your cheer leader, and make sure that you get at least a few of those finished over the coming year. The problem is . . . you’re sure to be tempted to start a few more projects in 2012 too, so it’ll be like pedalling backwards lol.

    On a more serious note, GREAT to see a post on this blog after so long Sandra. You can’t believe how sad it’s been, not receiving any emails notifying me of a new post . . . I do hope you’ll find time to post at least once a month over the coming year.

    • LOL, I was delighted with 28!! In fact, between you and me, there were a few more which I have decided I really don’t like any more so have “retired” them, and put the threads and fabric back into my stash. It’s taken many years to build up to 28 and I have no doubt that it will take many more to get them all done. There are a couple of things I have kitted up over the last couple of years which I would like to start, will blog more about them another time, but they will ONLY be started once I have finished something of equal size!

  2. Hi Sandra! Thanks for joining the WIPocalypse. I wanted to confirm that I’ve added you to the list. I’m looking forward to your progress photos (and am cheering that another stitcher has over two dozen WIPs like me!)

    Happy stitching!

  3. Wonderful to see a post here Sandra. Good luck with the 28 WIP’s, i have 3 and one of them is a HAED ufo so that doesn’t count. I do have lots of charts that i really wanted to do last year that are kitted up but a stitch didn’t get put into them.
    Looking forward to watching your progress during next year, Happy 2012 to you and hubby.

  4. I’ve just signed myself up to join the WIPocalypse Sandra ^^
    Only have 9 projects on my list, but I’m sure I’ll find more to add quicker than I complete

Leave a Reply

