Update

Why is it that any time off you have from work seems to fly by so quickly?  I was off for a total of 11 whole days and yet once I got back to work it felt like I’d never been away.

Phill did not have time off with me, so I split the time between catching up on all the housework that needed doing, and being completely lazy, watching silly films and reading.  A perfect week lol

I did make a trip to the quilt shop here in Swansea, called Red House Quilting.  The shop isn’t that big, but it’s amazing just how much stock they have.  I had some gift vouchers to spend there, and had found a pattern for a quilt that I fancied making, so Linda from the shop spent a long time with me choosing fabrics and as I am useless with colour schemes of any type it was a good job she did!

Image

Here’s the fabrics, which have now been cut up into little pieces and will eventually (I hope) look like this….. which is the picture on the back of the pattern book. 

Image

My mother came with me to the quilt shop, which is in Mumbles, a very popular tourist area here in Swansea.  We had some coffee, some lunch, some more coffee, and some ice cream, all mixed in with a bit of window shopping and a lot of walking!   The photo in the heading of my blog is of Mumbles, and I did take a few photos of my own which I will put in a separate post.

I did manage to get some stitching done while I was off, although not as much as I would have liked.  I heard that a stitching friend was going through a worrying time so made a little gift to brighten her day.  I’ve always wanted to try making a bourse, so thank you to Ursh for being my bourse guinea pig LOL

The chart is from the Gift of Stitching Magazine.  I also made a little scissors fob.  Unfortunately I did not take a photo of the bourse pulled into a little bag, hopefully Ursh may take one when she’s back on her feet and I can borrow it.

ImageImage

 

Apologies for the quality of the photos, they were taken in work just as I was packing them up to take to the Post Office when I realised I hadn’t taken any photos at home.

8 thoughts on “Update

  1. The bourse is delightful, what a wonderful gift. And the quilt will be lovely: love that pattern, and the fabrics are really pretty. Have a great weekend.

  2. ooooh I love your choice of fabric and pattern for the new quilting project. And your little bourse and scissor fob are gorgeous. Well done.

  3. Oh my! What a lovely lovely gift you made for your friend! Nice fabrics and quilt pattern too! And Mumbles! I love that pic of Mumbles on your header. Why is it called Mumbles? Such a funny name! Oh I miss the ocean…..

  4. Time never flies as fast as when we are off work, does it? I also was off last week and I squeezed as many things in that week as possible – but of course, the week could have been much longer, lol.
    That quilt that you are about to make looks terrific. And I love the fabrics you chose for it. Quite similar to the picture.
    Wow, what a lovely purse this is. I have never made one so far but I received one as a gift from a good stitching friend. I should go and look for the pattern as it’s very pretty.

Leave a Reply

